SUCCESS STORY
Wholesale & Retail

Denner

The approximately 840 Denner shops are supplied with goods from 5 distribution centres. After great success in Schmitten, Denner decided to roll out TradeLink to all locations.

70%

shorter waiting times for trucks

95%

Reduction of delivery peaks

2000

FTE hours saved

EUR 3.6 bn
Net sales 2021
850
Locations
6078
employees
117.6 m
Customers 2021

Congestion of goods at Switzerland's largest discounter

When people say discounter in Switzerland, they mean Denner. In 2021, over 117 million customers stocked up on goods for their daily needs in the branches of Switzerland's largest food discounter. The Denner assortment consists of about 3000 products, which are delivered to the 840 branches from five regional distribution centres. One of these centres is located in Schmitten. At the 15 ramps in the goods receiving area, around 400 trucks from the forwarding companies commissioned by the suppliers are dispatched with non-refrigerated goods every week.  

Notification of deliveries was rare - with the result that it was sometimes difficult to keep track of which supplier would arrive when with which goods. In combination with the lack of shunting space on the west side of the warehouse, which was built in 1982, there were regular, avoidable delivery peaks and long traffic jams at the ramps, especially in the afternoon.

 

The Denner distribution centre in Schmitten.

Together with TradeLink, the goal was to bring order to the logistics processes in the Schmitten distribution centre: to smooth out delivery peaks and better distribute deliveries throughout the day, to give employees a better forecast of deliveries and to eliminate the need for email coordination with suppliers and carriers.

"Shortly after the introduction at the first location, our suppliers already wanted us to quickly introduce TradeLink at all other locations as well. It's simply a win-win for everyone. TradeLink is therefore now going live as standard at all sites."
Patrick Spiegel
Project Manager Logistics

An open ear for customer wishes

Before working with TradeLink, Patrick Spiegel, the project manager at Denner, had tested and compared various software solutions in his search for a digital notification system - including TradeLink. It was not only the software that convinced him, but also the team behind it. While other software providers seemed to be happy to ignore customer requests and feedback or put them on the back burner, Denner was quickly impressed by TradeLink: It was not only the close support that stood out positively, but also how quickly the platform was continuously developed .  

Successful kick-off meeting in Switzerland: Daniel Kappler, Anne Listemann and Frederic Krahforst from TradeLink meet Maria Simoes, Patrick Spiegel and Roman Ulrich from Denner (in red, each from left to right).

In order to understand the complex logistics processes at Denner in detail, TradeLink CEO Frederic Krahforst, together with Roll-Out Manager Anne Listemann and Product Manager Daniel Kappler, even travelled to Denner in Switzerland. The message got through to Denner: TradeLink is really interested in its customers' logistics processes and understands their problems!

After the first meeting, things already started moving: Three selected suppliers and their forwarding agents were invited, and as early as April, not only was a flyer with yard rules and a presentation of the new "Priority Lane" distributed, but the first notifications of incoming goods were also processed via the TradeLink platform.  

When project manager Patrick Spiegel 's concerns that suppliers would not accept the platform were allayed after a short time, other suppliers and their forwarders came on board. During this time and afterwards, the TradeLink team supported all processes and reacted proactively and quickly to feedback from Denner. For example, Roman Ulrich, head of incoming goods , was particularly pleased with the list view of the notification information, which was developed according to his feedback: "My compliments, it's really great, that's how I always imagined it.  

In the meantime, all notification processes in incoming goods are handled via the platform, and most of the external delivery partners also already book their appointments via TradeLink. TradeLink was so well received everywhere that Denner employees as well as suppliers and their forwarders frequently wanted to know when TradeLink would be rolled out to the other Denner distribution centres!

The assortment that goes in and out of the distribution centre in Schmitten consists exclusively of non-refrigerated products.

TradeLink creates measurable efficiency

The fact that TradeLink is the opposite of paperwork is also shown by the measurable successes: thanks to the platform, delivery peaks have been reduced by 95 per cent, as deliveries are now evenly distributed throughout the day and the week. The waiting times of the trucks in the yard have been reduced by about 70 per cent, each truck waits on average only three minutes for unloading.  

The accuracy of the time window to the actual arrival time has improved by 84 percent to seven minutes. Overtime is now more or less a thing of the past at the Schmitten distribution center, as the optimally timed processes mean that around 2,000 fewer FTE hours are required per year. In the end, even Denner's IT department was pleasantly surprised that no additional IT resources had to be taken up for the project!

Soon all distribution centres will be on board!

Wherever the previously analogue supply chain management is digitised, there are initially concerns as to whether all employees and suppliers will follow suit and accept the software tools. This was also the case at Denner, but after the first tests with our intuitive platform, the initial scepticism quickly turned into enthusiasm.  

By the way, it was not only the employees in Schmitten who liked it: The suppliers also found TradeLink so convincing that they wanted to know when it would be rolled out to the remaining locations.  

Asked, done: TradeLink was implemented in the incoming goods department at the Denner distribution centres in Frauenfeld, Dietlikon, Lyss and Mägenwil. The distribution centres in Frauenfeld and Dietlikon are already connected to the platform, and the distribution centres in Lyss and Mägenwil are in the middle of the rollout process.  

Thanks to the experience gained in Schmitten, the TradeLink implementation went faster and faster from site to site, although the setup and tasks were quite different in each case.  

The medium-term goal of the cooperation between TradeLink and Denner is to further develop the platform together. For example, all logistics processes from incoming goods to outgoing goods are to be brought onto the platform in order to map complete information flows . In addition, direct communication with the drivers via TradeLink should be possible in the future.

Challenge

One of Denner AG's five distribution centres is located in Schmitten. Since 1982, the 3000 products in the range have been distributed from here throughout western Switzerland. Unclear information on delivery dates led to delivery peaks as well as long standing and waiting times, especially at the goods receiving ramps on the west side.

Solution

  • Initially, forwarders and incoming goods were networked via TradeLink
  • All deliveries are now evenly distributed throughout the week
  • Involvement of suppliers

Key figures

  • Waiting times for trucks have been reduced to about three minutes
  • Delivery peaks have been reduced by 95
  • There is hardly any overtime any more

Calculate savings now

More TradeLink success stories

Logistics service provider

TRAVECO

TradeLink digitizes and streamlines logistics processes at TRAVECO.

Read now
Wholesale & Retail

JBS

Read now
e-Commerce

Pets Premium / WM Group

Read now
EUR 3.6 bn
Net sales 2021
850
Locations
6078
employees
117.6 m
Customers 2021

Your cost advantages with TradeLink

Calculate here how much savings you can realise with TradeLink based on your weekly transport volume.

Details of your transports

Personal details

By submitting this form, you agree to our general terms of use for the management of your data.

Thank you very much, we will send you your calculation immediately.
Sorry, this did not work. Please make sure that all fields are filled in correctly.
TradeLink Design
Calculate savings

<meta name="googlebot" content="All" />
SUCCESS STORY
Groß- & Einzelhandel

Denner

Die rund 840 Denner-Filialen werden von 5 Verteilzentren mit Waren versorgt. Nach großem Erfolg in Schmitten, beschloss Denner TradeLink an allen Standorten auszurollen.

70%

kürzere Wartezeiten für LKW

95%

Reduzierung der Lieferspitzen

2000

FTE-Stunden eingespart

3,6 Mrd. EUR
Nettoumsatz 2021
850
Standorte
6078
Mitarbeitende
117,6 Mio.
Kunden 2021

Warenstau beim größten Schweizer Discounter

Wer in der Schweiz Discounter sagt, meint Denner. Über 117 Millionen Kunden haben sich 2021 in den Filialen des größten Lebensmitteldiscounters der Schweiz mit Waren für den täglichen Bedarf eingedeckt. Das Sortiment bei Denner besteht aus rund 3000 Produkten, die von fünf regionalen Verteilzentralen aus an die 840 Filialen geliefert werden. Eines dieser Zentren liegt in Schmitten. An den 15 Rampen im Wareneingang werden wöchentlich rund 400 LKW der von den Lieferanten beauftragten Speditionen mit nicht-gekühlten Gütern abgefertigt.  

Eine Avisierung der Lieferungen gab es nur selten – mit der Folge, dass der Überblick manchmal schwierig war, welcher Lieferant wann mit welchen Waren kommen würde. Im Zusammenspiel mit der fehlenden Rangierfläche an der Westseite des 1982 gebauten Lagers kam es daher regelmäßig, vor allem nachmittags, zu eigentlich vermeidbaren Lieferspitzen und langen Staus an den Rampen.

 

Das Denner Verteilzentrum in Schmitten.

Gemeinsam mit TradeLink war das Ziel, Ordnung in die Logistikprozesse im Schmittener Verteilzentrum zu bringen: die Lieferspitzen zu glätten und die Lieferungen besser über den Tag zu verteilen, den Mitarbeitenden eine bessere Prognose über die Anlieferungen zu ermöglichen und die Abstimmungen per E-Mail mit den Lieferanten und Spediteuren überflüssig zu machen.

„Kurz nach der Einführung am ersten Standort, wollten unsere Lieferanten bereits, dass wir TradeLink auch schnell an allen anderen Standorten einführen. Es gewinnen einfach alle. TradeLink geht daher nun als Standard an allen Standorten live.“
Patrick Spiegel
Projektleiter Logistik

Ein offenes Ohr für Kundenwünsche

Bevor es zur Zusammenarbeit mit TradeLink kam, hatte Patrick Spiegel, der Leiter des Projekts bei Denner, auf der Suche nach einem digitalen Avisierungssystem verschiedene Software-Lösungen getestet und verglichen – darunter auch TradeLink. Hier überzeugte nicht nur die Software, sondern auch das Team dahinter.  Denn während bei anderen Software-Anbietern Kundenwünsche und -Feedback anscheinend gern ignoriert oder auf die lange Bank geschoben wurde, war man bei Denner schnell begeistert von TradeLink: nicht nur die enge Betreuung fiel positiv auf, sondern auch wie schnell die Plattform kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt wurde.  

Erfolgreiches Kickoff-Meeting in der Schweiz:  Daniel Kappler, Anne Listemann und Frederic Krahforst von TradeLink treffen auf Maria Simoes, Patrick Spiegel und Roman Ulrich von Denner (in rot, jeweils v.l.n.r.)

Um die komplexen Logistikprozesse bei Denner im Detail zu verstehen, fuhr TradeLink-CEO Frederic Krahforst zusammen mit der Roll-Out Managerin Anne Listemann und Produktmanager Daniel Kappler sogar eigens zu Denner in die Schweiz. Bei Denner kam die Botschaft an: TradeLink interessiert sich wirklich für die Logistikprozesse seiner Kunden und versteht deren Probleme!

Schon nach dem ersten Treffen ging es los: Drei ausgewählte Lieferanten und deren Speditionen wurden eingeladen, und schon im April wurde nicht nur ein Flyer mit Hofregeln und Vorstellung der neuen „Priority Lane“ verteilt, auch die ersten Avisierungen der Wareneingänge wurden über die TradeLink-Plattform abgewickelt.  

Als nach kurzer Zeit die Bedenken von Projektleiter Patrick Spiegel ausgeräumt waren, dass die Lieferanten die Plattform nicht annehmen würden, kamen weitere Lieferanten und deren Speditionen ins Boot. Das TradeLink-Team hat während dieser Zeit und danach sämtliche Prozesse unterstützend begleitet sowie proaktiv und schnell auf Feedback von Denner reagiert. So freute sich Wareneingangsleiter Roman Ulrich besonders über die Listenansicht der Avis-Infos, die nach seinem Feedback entwickelt wurden: “Großes Kompliment, die ist wirklich toll geworden, so habe ich mir das immer vorgestellt.”  

Mittlerweile werden sämtliche Avisierungsprozesse im Wareneingang über die Plattform abgewickelt, und auch die meisten der externen Lieferpartner buchen ihre Termine bereits über TradeLink. TradeLink fand überall so viel Anklang, dass sowohl die Denner-Mitarbeitenden als auch die Lieferanten und deren Spediteure häufig wissen wollten, wann TradeLink auch an den anderen Denner-Verteilzentren ausgerollt wird!

Das Sortiment, das im Verteilzentrum in Schmitten ein- und ausgeht, besteht ausschließlich aus ungekühlten Produkten.

TradeLink schafft messbare Effizienz

Dass TradeLink das Gegenteil von Zettelwirtschaft ist, zeigen auch die messbaren Erfolge: Dank der Plattform konnten die Lieferspitzen um 95 Prozent reduziert werden, da die Lieferungen jetzt gleichmäßig über den Tag und die Woche verteilt werden. Die Wartezeiten der LKW auf dem Hof wurden um etwa 70 Prozent reduziert, jeder LKW wartet im Schnitt nur noch drei Minuten auf die Entladung.  

Die Genauigkeit des Zeitfensters bis zur tatsächlichen Ankunftszeit hat sich um 84 Prozent auf sieben Minuten verbessert. Überstunden gehören im Schmittener Verteilzentrum jetzt mehr oder weniger der Vergangenheit an, denn durch die optimal getakteten Prozesse werden pro Jahr rund 2000 FTE-Stunden weniger benötigt. Letztlich war selbst die Dennersche IT-Abteilung positiv überrascht, dass für das Projekt keine zusätzlichen IT-Ressourcen in Anspruch genommen werden mussten!

Bald sind alle Verteilzentren an Bord!

Überall, wo das bisher analoge Supply-Chain-Management digitalisiert wird, gibt es zunächst Bedenken, ob alle Mitarbeitenden und Lieferanten mitziehen und die Software-Tools akzeptieren. Das war auch bei Denner zunächst so, doch nach den ersten Tests mit unserer intuitiv bedienbaren Plattform wurde aus anfänglich noch vorhandener Skepsis schnell Begeisterung.  

Übrigens nicht nur bei den Mitarbeitenden in Schmitten: Auch die Lieferanten fanden TradeLink so überzeugend, dass sie von sich aus wissen wollten, wann es auf die restlichen Standorte ausgerollt würde.  

Gefragt, getan: TradeLink wurde im Wareneingang in den Denner-Verteilzentren in Frauenfeld, Dietlikon, Lyss und Mägenwil implementiert. Schon jetzt sind die Verteilzentren in Frauenfeld und Dietlikon bereits an die Plattform angebunden, die Verteilzentren in Lyss und Mägenwil befinden sich mitten im Rollout-Prozess.  

Dank der in Schmitten gemachten Erfahrungen ging die TradeLink-Implementierung von Standort zu Standort immer schneller, obwohl das Setup und die Aufgaben jeweils ganz unterschiedlich waren.  

Mittelfristiges Ziel der Zusammenarbeit von TradeLink und Denner ist es, die Plattform gemeinsam weiterzuentwickeln. So sollen sämtliche Logistikprozesse vom Wareneingang zum Warenausgang auf die Plattform gebracht werden, um komplette Informationsflüsse abzubilden. Außerdem soll in Zukunft die direkte Kommunikation mit den Fahrern via TradeLink möglich werden.

Herausforderung

In Schmitten befindet sich eine von insgesamt fünf Verteilzentralen der Denner AG. Seit 1982 werden von hier aus die 3000 Produkte des Sortiments in der gesamten Westschweiz verteilt. Unübersichtliche Informationen zu den Lieferterminen führten zu Lieferspitzen sowie langen Stand- und Wartezeiten vor allem an den Wareneingangsrampen der Westseite.

Lösung

  • Zunächst wurden Spediteure und der Wareneingang über TradeLink vernetzt
  • Alle Lieferungen werden jetzt gleichmäßig über die Woche verteilt
  • Einbindung der Lieferanten

Kennzahlen

  • Die Wartezeiten für LKW wurden auf etwa drei Minuten reduziert
  • Die Lieferspitzen wurden um 95 % reduziert
  • Es fallen kaum noch Überstunden an

Jetzt Einsparungen berechnen

More TradeLink success stories

Logistikdienstleister

TRAVECO

TradeLink digitalisiert und verschlankt die Logistikprozesse bei TRAVECO.

Read now
Groß- & Einzelhandel

JBS

Read now
e-Commerce

Pets Premium / WM Group

Read now
3,6 Mrd. EUR
Nettoumsatz 2021
850
Standorte
6078
Mitarbeitende
117,6 Mio.
Kunden 2021

Ihre Kostenvorteile mit TradeLink

Errechnen Sie hier, wie viel Einsparungen Sie mit TradeLink basierend auf Ihrem wöchentlichen Transportvolumen realisieren können.

Angaben zu Ihren Transporten

Persönliche Angaben

Mit dem Absenden dieses Formulars erklären Sie sich mit unseren allgemeinen Nutzungsbedingungen für die Verwaltung Ihrer Daten einverstanden.

Vielen Dank, wir werden Ihnen Ihre Berechnung umgehend zusenden.
Das hat leider nicht funktioniert. Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass alle Felder korrekt ausgefüllt sind.
Einsparungen berechnen